sugar crystals and aging of Virginia flakes

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fumo bro

Reaction score
I am new to Virginias with the exception of Rattrays Marlin Flake which has become one of my favorite smokes. From reading reviews on Virginia blends I noticed that reviewers mention that sugar crystals form on the tobacco. I imagine this is a result of an aging process. I just purchased 5 tins of Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake. I opened and sampled one tin but I did not see any crystals. I was thinking about letting the remaining 4 tins age. How long (on average) should it take for Virginias to age? Months? Years? Does the aging of Virginias really make a big difference in flavor or taste?

The first time I saw this, I thought it was mold.
fvf110.jpg

Pretty common to Sam Gawith blends.
This sample was jarred for a year and a half.

It's not really sugar, it's some precipitates from the chemical changes in the tabak. It varies how long it takes to develop - blend, storage container, etc.

Buddy

with cigars it is called plume or bloom. A wonderful thing to see on a cigar, now I just have to figure out how to hold on to some tobacco long enough 8)

fumo bro":gklcg21p said:
I am new to Virginias with the exception of Rattrays Marlin Flake which has become one of my favorite smokes. From reading reviews on Virginia blends I noticed that reviewers mention that sugar crystals form on the tobacco. I imagine this is a result of an aging process. I just purchased 5 tins of Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake. I opened and sampled one tin but I did not see any crystals. I was thinking about letting the remaining 4 tins age. How long (on average) should it take for Virginias to age? Months? Years? Does the aging of Virginias really make a big difference in flavor or taste?