Switching tobaccos, same pipes, what to do?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jazzman

Reaction score
I've been smoking pipes for about the last 3 years, everyday. When I started I grew to love English/lat blends and smoked them almost exclusively.

More recently my tastes have changed and I'm really enjoying Va and Va/Per like FVF,LGF, Embarcadero and Fillmore. I'm not smoking Englishs right now.

I have a couple pipes dedicated to Va, however, I have six or seven pipes that I Love(Castellos, Dunnies,etc.) that I'd like to work back into the rotation. What do I do?

My thought is that I do the salt/alcohol trick and a little light sanding and the "ghosts" will be gone. I'd love to hear what some of the Brothers have done in this situation.

Thanks-Mike :cheers:

I ream out the bowl..then sand it lightly , scrub the shank with a shank brush and alchohol or pipe sweetenner. This usually takes care of the ghost for the most part. I think whatever remains in the briar will get ghosted over by the new type of tobacco your smoking in the pipe after a few bowls.
Ive also been reading up on pipe retort kits but havent bought one yet...this looks like something you may also want to look into. check it out on youtube.

Thanks, I thought that might be the way to go. Peace-Mike :cheers:

Same here, though I will admit that a pipe that I dedicated to flakes (for no particular reason) long ago is forever assoicated--psychologically--with flakes even when I tried changing it a pipe for mixtures.

Carlos":1m7q4l2z said:
Just smoke it.
I would never bother messing with the caking and seasoning of a pipe if I was only going from Englishes to Virginias. Those cakes are family. No reason to estrange them. You're making work where work isn't due.

Zeno Marx":ch4c611v said:
Carlos":ch4c611v said:
Just smoke it.