The Art Of Shaving

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GuitarMyFriend

Reaction score
Anyone use their soaps? I walked into one of their stores in a mall, and bought some very needed Merkur razors. I saw their shaving soaps and creams, and asked about them. A very friendly man with a very funny little mustache showed me the lather and how to get a good lather even though I told him I've been shaving with a bowl and brush for a few years now. Their sandalwood soap smelled amazing! I asked about the price he told me it would be 50 bucks for the soap and teak wood bowl. I asked about the soap itself, he said it was 30 bucks! I usually get a off-brand Pine scented soap that produces a good lather or some Col. Conks. It just seems too expensive for shaving soap.
Thanks,
Zach

TAOS is extremely over priced.

Here is a far better selection, with a plethora of scents, much cheaper.
http://www.westcoastshaving.com/Shaving-Soaps_c_16-8-3.html

I like Geo F Trumper products but even they are on the top shelf price wise. If you are seeking economy Haslinger, Razor Rock, etc are very good options.

Shave soap is much like pipes, for the most part you get what you pay for but after a certain point you are paying for the brand name on it.

puros_bran":gpjizpzn said:
TAOS is extremely over priced.
Agreed.

I purchase most of my stuff through Amazon and occasionally through Maggard Razor.

Trumper's Lime is fantastic, one of my favorites.

So far my tops are Poraso Green, TBS Sandalwood, TBS Avocado & Trumper's Lime.

I am still trying to find my preferred DE blade.